College Students on Christmas Budget

Leave a comment

December 10, 2012 by aliciamarie94

‘Tis the season to spend…but not too much for students in college, who somehow have to manage to fit in gifts for their loved ones in their already tight budgets.
Gift giving is a difficult task for many students, especially now, at the time to register for classes for schools in a semester system, like Chabot College. Kassandra Rodriguez, student at Chabot, registered for her classes on November 28, and the deadline to pay for them is January 8. Rodriguez plans on buying gifts for her two younger siblings, her parents, some close friends, and her grandparents. “I don’t even know how I’m going to do it,” she says. “It’s a short list, I know that, but I don’t have a job and I have classes to pay for in a month, and I’m probably going to spend at least $150 this year on gifts, and that’s if I’m lucky.”

Not to mention the time of the holidays being just around the corner of finals. Battling crazy people in lines instead of studying for finals is not ideal to a college student. Amanda Shafer, student at San Jose State, already has to spend the time commuting, and she says “I don’t have time, or money, for that! It kills me, I don’t have any time for any kind of social life!”

Leave a comment